The Jeremy Lin TV Guide Based on Markets with the Highest Asian Populations

One impact Jeremy Lin had last season was that he converted many indifferent Asian-American sports fans into hardcore NBA nerds. At least they followed the Knicks. And with 32 nationally televised games this season, they thought it would be more of the same.

One giant Daryl Morey sized poison pill later, Linsanity will be toiling in relative obscurity with a mere six national games playing for the Houston Rockets. Only two games are on ESPN, while the other four are on NBA TV—not exactly a ubiquitous station.

You can at least maximize your Jeremy Lin Experience with my Jeremy Lin TV Guide. I break down the Houston Rockets schedule based on the markets with the highest Asian populations—mixing a combination of national games and the local teams games against the Rockets.

This includes the New York Metropolitan area, (parts of New Jersey and Connecticut), Los Angeles, San Francisco, Toronto, Chicago, Boston, Washington D.C., Philadelphia, Sacramento, and markets without an NBA team. This should be obvious, but check your local listings when it says “local.”

New York Metropolitan Area (9 total)

Date Day Opponent Station
Nov 23 Fri NY Local
Dec 17 Mon @NY NBA TV
Dec 25 Tue @CHI ESPN
Jan 23 Wed @DEN NBA TV
Jan 26 Sat BKN Local
Feb 13 Wed @LAC NBA TV
Feb 22 Fri @BKN Local
Mar 8 Fri @GSW ESPN
Mar 15 Fri MIN NBA TV

 

Los Angeles (12 total)

Date Day Opponent Station
Nov 18 Sun @LAL Local
Dec 4 Tue LAL Local
Dec 17 Mon @NY NBA TV
Dec 25 Tue @CHI ESPN
Jan 8 Tue LAL Local
Jan 15 Tue LAC Local
Jan 23 Wed @DEN NBA TV
Feb 13 Wed @LAC NBA TV
Mar 8 Fri @GSW ESPN
Mar 15 Fri MIN NBA TV
Mar 30 Sat LAC Local
Apr 17 Wed @LAL Local

 

San Francisco (9 total)

Date Day Opponent Station
Dec 17 Mon @NY NBA TV
Dec 25 Tue @CHI ESPN
Jan 23 Wed @DEN NBA TV
Feb 5 Tue GSW Local
Feb 12 Tue @GSW Local
Feb 13 Wed @LAC NBA TV
Mar 8 Fri @GSW ESPN
Mar 15 Fri MIN NBA TV
Mar 17 Sun GSW Local

 

Toronto (Canada does NOT get ESPN. NBA TV Canada carries their games. Check TSN and Sportsnet too.  Thanks to Tas Melas of the Basketball Jones for this info.)

Date Day Opponent Station
Nov 17 Tue TOR Local
Dec 16 Sun @TOR Local
Dec 17 Mon @NY NBA TV
Jan 23 Wed @DEN NBA TV
Feb 13 Wed @LAC NBA TV
Mar 15 Fri MIN NBA TV

 

Chicago (7 total)

Date Day Opponent Station
Nov 21 Wed CHI Local
Dec 17 Mon @NY NBA TV
Dec 25 Tue @CHI ESPN
Jan 23 Wed @DEN NBA TV
Feb 13 Wed @LAC NBA TV
Mar 8 Fri @GSW ESPN
Mar 15 Fri MIN NBA TV

 

Boston (8 total)

Date Day Opponent Station
Dec 14 Fri BOS Local
Dec 17 Mon @NY NBA TV
Dec 25 Tue @CHI ESPN
Jan 11 Fri @BOS Local
Jan 23 Wed @DEN NBA TV
Feb 13 Wed @LAC NBA TV
Mar 8 Fri @GSW ESPN
Mar 15 Fri MIN NBA TV

 

Washington D.C. (8 total)

Date Day Opponent Station
Dec 12 Wed WAS Local
Dec 17 Mon @NY NBA TV
Dec 25 Tue @CHI ESPN
Jan 23 Wed @DEN NBA TV
Feb 13 Wed @LAC NBA TV
Feb 23 Sat @WAS Local
Mar 8 Fri @GSW ESPN
Mar 15 Fri MIN NBA TV

 

Philadelphia (8 total)

Date Day Opponent Station
Dec 17 Mon @NY NBA TV
Dec 19 Wed PHI Local
Dec 25 Tue @CHI ESPN
Jan 12 Sat @PHI Local
Jan 23 Wed @DEN NBA TV
Feb 13 Wed @LAC NBA TV
Mar 8 Fri @GSW ESPN
Mar 15 Fri MIN NBA TV

 

Sacramento (9 total)

Date Day Opponent Station
Dec 17 Mon @NY NBA TV
Dec 25 Tue @CHI ESPN
Jan 23 Wed @DEN NBA TV
Feb 10 Sun @SAC Local
Feb 13 Wed @LAC NBA TV
Mar 8 Fri @GSW ESPN
Mar 15 Fri MIN NBA TV
Apr 3 Wed @SAC Local
Apr 14 Sun SAC Local

 

No Local Team (6 total)

Date Day Opponent Station
Dec 17 Mon @NY NBA TV
Dec 25 Tue @CHI ESPN
Jan 23 Wed @DEN NBA TV
Feb 13 Wed @LAC NBA TV
Mar 8 Fri @GSW ESPN
Mar 15 Fri MIN NBA TV

 

If I’m missing your market, let me know and I’ll put it in. If you’re really hard core, you can plunk down the cash for NBA League Pass.

Or, you can just move to Houston.

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

HTML tags are not allowed.